BHSSC’s governing board is composed of one elected school board member from each of 12 public school districts in western South Dakota. Public board meetings are conducted monthly with minutes published in the Rapid City Journal. The organization operates as an education cooperative under South Dakota Codified Law 13:5:31. Due to its work in many diverse fields Black Hills Special Services Cooperative is reviewed by 15 regulatory councils and secures an independent audit annually as required by law.


Black Hills Special Services Cooperative mission is to build stronger communities by helping individuals and organizations reach their full potential.


Black Hills Special Services Cooperative vision is to provide innovative and comprehensive services in education, training and employment.

Core Values (PREVAIL)


Executive Director: Dr. Joe Hauge
Deputy Executive Director: 
Dr. Pam Lange
Business Manager: 
Heidi Anderson
Development & Grants Management: Kelsey Smith
Community, Family & Special Services: Dr. Pam Lange
Developmental Disabilities: 
Shirley Halverson
Education & Workforce Development:
Jeanne McKenna
Health & Human Services: 
Brooke Lusk
Technology & Innovation in Education: 
Dr. Kyle Laughlin

School Districts Served